The learning process

The learning process

d91d4665-3

This post is about my current learning process of photography.  Photography has always been part of my life. I remember having a film camera when I was small to my very first 4MP digital camera ☺ . In high school sophomore year I took yearbook and in senior year I took digital photography, video editing and yearbook.

The 1st DSLR cameras were the ones we used in photography class. For some reason we never learned how to use the camera in manual mode, or anything about the exposure triangle. We always had it on auto, I guess it was a lot easier for the teacher to just teach us about composition.

But like I said, I kind of grew up with a camera in my hand, taking pictures of family and friends.  As the years passed, I never took it upon myself to learn how to properly use a camera. I even purchased my first DSLR camera in 2009 (Nikon D7000). Once I bought the camera I did my first photo “gig” of my cousins engagement pictures. It was a cloudy day at Newport beach, and surprisingly I managed to get a few good shots.

The years passed and I end up become the family’s “photographer” for maternity, baby showers, engagement and other events. All these years and events and I still don’t know how to use my camera to the best of its ability. Did I mention I was using a kit lens? I had no idea the big difference prime lenses make.

I remember I mentioned to my mom one day that I wanted to go to school for photography so that I could learn how to use my camera. One day she shows up with a flyer she found at our local library. The flyer said “free photography classes” I thought, nothing is free hahaha. So I called the library and indeed it was a free course that took place at the library twice a month for two hrs.  I was a little nervous at first because I knew nothing, and I was afraid this class was going to be to advanced for me.

At the beginning the class was extremely overwhelming, because I got introduced to the exposure triangle and how the 3 elements must work together to produce a properly exposed photo. To my surprise the other students also had very little knowledge about any of that. That made me a little more comfortable. I continued with theses classes religiously and I felt like the information would go in one ear and out the other. No matter how many times I would here about the exposure triangle it just wouldn’t stick.

I am a very determined person when it is something that I really want, so I stuck with the classes, I even joined the other 2 classes taught at another location to get more exposure to the information. I have been attending these workshops for 2 years and I would say that I still have a lot of questions and a lot more to learn, but I have to thank my teacher Ruben for his time and for teaching this awesome class! If it were not for him and this class, I honestly think I would still be in auto mode. I am not even close to feeling 100% comfortable in manual mode, but the little I have learned has given me the motivation and desire to go out and practice, practice and practice to get better. I have even gone out and invested in a 50MM lens (I LOVE IT) and just recently a Nikon SB-700 Speedlight (I am currently learning how to use it).

I love photography and I love the learning process.

fullsizerender

Flash test 2/23/17

Check out Ruben Rodriguez photography

– Alondra

Leave a Reply

